August 9, 2012: Cutting Remarks

 

Do people use cookie cutters anymore? I have a big round box of them in my kitchen cupboard, but I never use the fucking things. I like to bake, but I don’t know that I’ve ever read a cookie recipe that included the direction, “Using a star-shaped cookie cutter…”

Every couple of months, I think about pitching the whole lot—the bell-shaped one; the giant heart-shaped one; the goofy Santa one that punches out pancreas-shaped cookies, or that would if I ever used it. But I never do. Because I know that a few days after binning the whole mess, some recipe I’m attempting will call for “a 3-inch flower-shaped cookie cutter.”

 Thing I Hate Today: Donald Duck

3 Responses

  1. Madison would use them. If you pitch them, pitch them to her.

  2. I hate Donald Duck, too, but if I were you, I’d keep the pancreas shaped cutter. You never know when a recipe will call for that, and then how hard is it going to be to find a new one?

  3. If a dough needs to be flattened and in small pieces to make a cookie, I make balls of dough and smash them with my glass cookie stamps. (The bottom of a glass or a jar can also work.) But if I have a friend or a little kid to cook with, then using cookie cutters is fun. And sometimes decorating the tar out of the cookies, as long as they’ll still taste good.

Leave a Reply

