July 10, 2012: University Club Me

He’s cute, too.

          I opened a new exhibit tonight at the University Club in downtown Phoenix. It’s a juried show I called Chomp: A Show About Comestibles, and it’s on display through September. I asked artists to submit work that was somehow about food. The turnout for the opening reception was very nice; Tevye played piano and we sold several pieces of art.

          People kept coming up to me all night to say things like, “Your husband is so talented! He paints and he knits and he plays piano!” I never know what to say to these nice comments about my beloved, which I’ve been hearing for some time now. “Yes, I know!” seems conceited, and “Do you really think so?” is disingenuous. Tonight I tried a new one. Each time someone complimented Tevye’s talents, I replied, “Yes—and you should taste his baked ziti!”

 Thing I Hate Today: Forgetting my cell phone at home

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

