June 17: In for a Poundland

          I’m in Stratford-Upon-Avon today, wandering around killing time while Lady Leighton gets her hair done at a salon in the next village.

          I know I should find something Shakespeare-specific to do here: visit the Bard’s birthplace museum, or wander the Bancroft Gardens, or nip in to the Guild Chapel. I could at least stop for fish-and-chips and mushy peas at Barnaby’s, where Tevye and I ate the night we saw Dame Judi Dench do Mistress Quickly in The Merry Wives of Windsor several years ago.

          But instead, I head straight for the dollar store, just like I do in Phoenix or Ohio. In Stratford-Upon-Avon, it’s called Poundland, a name that makes me levitate with joy.

          Once inside, Poundland turns out to be less fun than I’m expecting. As far as I can tell, Poundland sells the same crap I find at dollar stores in the states: disposable razors, watercolor sets, sweat socks. The only difference I can see is that the quality of the chocolate bars is better here—one would never find a full-sized Toblerone at the Dollar Tree in Niles.

          But then, just as I’m leaving, I spot them: a whole display of key rings with little plastic William Shakespeare heads dangling from them. Not one of which I purchase because, ahem, “Nothing in his life became him like the leaving it.”

Thing I Hate Today: It’s stopped raining

2 Responses

  1. Thanks for sharing such a pleasant idea, piece of writing is fastidious, thats
    why i have read it entirely

  2. I constantly spent my half an hour to read this blog’s articles every day along with a cup of coffee.

Leave a Reply

