May 18, 2012: Out of the Past

Today is my parents’ 66th wedding anniversary. Tevye is making them a nice lunch, and I’m sitting here reading the letters my father wrote to my mother during the several months they were apart in 1963. My family moved from Ohio to Arizona that year, and my father stayed behind to sell our house, while my mother and her children came ahead to settle in our new home here. My parents were apart for three months, and their anguish is apparent in my father’s daily letters to his wife. Here is the letter Dad wrote to Mom on their 17th wedding anniversary. 

May 18, 1963

My darling,

     I’ve been lying on the bedroom floor just staring up at the ceiling and thinking of you. All I could do today was remember what day this is, and be sorrowful that we have to be apart for awhile.

      I will put every effort into selling this house, because I want to be there in Phoenix with you and the children. This house has meant so much to me because I built it for us, but now I can’t wait to get rid of it because it is keeping us apart. I feel now the way I did when I was overseas [during the war], only a million more times lonelier. I will  be there one day soon. Then we can plan a new life together in Arizona.

     Keep me informed, please, as to what is going on out there. Are you able to go for groceries? Are you and the children eating regularly? Where are you sleeping? Is Robbie well?

     Darling, I love you very much and I shall always adore you. The only real thing that ever happened to me was you! You are the best wife and mother in the world. Though I’ve plenty of time to think lately, all I can think about is you. Everything else seems to vanish and my thoughts always seem to be of you. I love you with all my heart and soul.

 Nickie

July, 1947: Newlyweds

7 Responses

  1. Jeez Robrt, when will you be posting a story that doesn’t make me weepy? That was a beautiful letter. Your parents are so fortunate to have each other.

  2. Wonderful.

  3. My mother deserved a husband like this. Come to think of it, neither did I. I think men like your dad are few…too few.

  4. That should have been, “Come to think of it, so did I.” Freudian slip?

  5. Comforting to hear a man reveal his innermost feelings as your father did.

  6. So lovely. So admirable. So inspirational.

  7. I agree with Kim. So beautiful.

Leave a Reply

