April 20, 2012: The Name Game

Topol as Tevye in Fiddler on the Roof.

        For 15 years now, people have been saying to me, “How funny that you call Todd ‘Tevye’! After the guy in Fiddler on the Roof, right?”

         Wrong. I call my husband Tevye because that’s his Hebrew name, given to him by his mother in June of 1964. There are no musical theater references in this story, just some nice Jewish people who followed the tradition of giving their children both English and Hebrew names at birth.

            So. The guy I’m not allowed by law to marry is both Todd Daniel and Tevye Dove. And, since I come from a family where everyone has a nickname, I call him Tevye. Which is a lot less strange than the nickname our friend Paul, whom Tevye has known since high school, calls him: Taffy.

            Which is a story for another day.

Todd as Tevye in Long Island.

 Thing I Hate Today: Restless nights

4 Responses

  1. I call him Toddly. (He calls me Pammie Annie.) I love you both!!

  2. Let’s just get all of the nicknames out of the way: Tevye, Taffy, Teve, Tippy, Dottie, Monkey,Toddy, Taco, Toddmeister, Mister Todd, Toad, Mister Toad, Tahd (a Lisa Luebner reference)…I’m sure there are more. I’m always a little thrown when people just say “Todd.” It’s how I know I’m in trouble.

    p.s. Happy Birthday, Pammie Annie.

    • Thank you, Toddly!! 🙂 I never knew of all of your nicknames! You must have been the popular kid in school!!! 🙂

  3. Tino the Tacovender, Tippy the Tidiron, Tafaysha, Tafatia Rosa…

Leave a Reply

