April 9, 2012: Judge and Jury

I spent the day today with the juries for my next two art exhibits at the Herberger. This is my idea of a very pleasant Monday: Sitting in the dark, with friends, being judgmental about other people’s art.

Jurying art involves looking at hundreds of images depicting artworks that have been submitted for consideration in a group exhibit, and deciding which if any of them will go into my next couple of shows—in this case, at the Herberger Theater Center Art Gallery.

Jurors come in two varieties: Nice, respectful folks who quietly take polite notes about watercolor bowls of fruit and giclee prints of cactus, and my favorites: Jurors who’ve worked in the arts for decades, and have no compunction about screaming out, “Oh my god! Not another still life with coffee mug!”

Being hypercritical is exhausting. And so, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go lie on the sofa and watch reruns of That Girl.

I forgot to take a photograph of the juries today. Here's a picture of what we did to the cat yesterday.


Thing I Hate Today: Having an annoying pop song stuck in my head all day.

3 Responses

  1. I love That Girl!

  2. I’m impressed. My cat would never sit still for that.

  3. Those daffodils are totally from Safeway. $1.99 a cluster.

Leave a Reply

