Saturday, April 7: Boy, Has He Risen!

Tomorrow is Easter. And JESUS is coming!

As a much younger man, I had a framed print of this infamous painting by illustrator Harry Anderson hanging over the toilet in my bathroom. It became an unintentional barometer of hipness among my friends.

Guests would sometimes emerge from the powder room exclaiming. “Oh, my god!” they would unintentionally quip. “Jesus at the United Nations Building! Where did you get that?”

Or “Wow, I haven’t seen that in a long time. My grandma had a copy of that in her living room…”

But when a guest returned from relieving themselves with a confused look on their face, I knew we weren’t going to be spending a lot of time together in the near future.

            I love this painting, which  Anderson  titled “Prince of Peace.” I love the long, shiny line of Sixties automobiles parked at the UN curb. And the kicky fashion on the gal in the foreground, busily crossing the street in her swingy trench. But mostly I love the concept: A colossal, skyscraping Jesus Christ, knocking on the UN Building as if it were a great big door.

            Does He expect someone to answer? If they do, how will He get inside—through a window? And where, precisely, does Giant Jesus think He’ll sit, once inside?

            “Knock-knock!”

            “Who’s there?”

            “Jesus!”

            “Jesus Who?”

            “Jesus Christ, let Me in already!”

Thing I Hate Today: Being interrupted.

2 Responses

  1. Yeah I have been looking for this in thrifts ever since *I* saw it in your john a hundred years ago…

  2. On 16 May 2012, I saw this print at La Mascota bakery in Boyle Heights, LA. It stopped me in my tracks, and I googled it as soon as I got home. (Search term: “Jesus at United Nations.”) Thank you for the background info!

Leave a Reply

