March 29, 2012: I am a Butthole

            Two weeks ago, a friend of mine was diagnosed with a brain tumor. She arrived home from the doctor’s office that day to discover that her home had been broken into and everything of value had been carted away. While the police were taking fingerprints from her home, her boyfriend called to say he had been pulled over for DUI and was in jail.

            Last week, another friend emailed to say that his wife is leaving him. Two days later, yet another friend’s mother had a stroke. On Monday, a friend from back east called to say that he is suicidal and has had himself committed to a mental hospital. Later that day, I read a post on Facebook from a pal of mine who’s just discovered she has Stage IV colon cancer. Yesterday, another old friend called to say she’s addicted to painkillers and needs to go into rehab.

            And yet, today I found myself sitting on the steps of my house, feeling sorry for myself because a wine carafe I’d bought at a junk shop had slipped from my hands and smashed on the pavement.

            “Why the hell is everything such a motherfucking endless pain in my ass?” I believe were my exact words, spoken for no one else but me to hear.

            Seriously.

 Thing I Hate Today: My own short-sightedness.

3 Responses

  1. To be fair, it was a nice carafe.

  2. butterfingers is terminal – i’m sorry.

  3. The Bombs, The Bombs, they can’t come soon enough.

    “There will be no more misery
    When the world is our rotisserie,
    yes we’ll all go together
    when we go.”

    -Tom Lehrer

Leave a Reply

