February 18, 2012: Gianna

            On the third Saturday of every month, I teach a free, 90-minute children’s art class called Gianna. I started this class three years ago, to honor my cousin, Gianna Capecci, who died from ovarian cancer. She was only 56 years old.

            An artist, curator, and teacher, Gianna was my ideal. I loved her and admired her and am still stunned and heartbroken that she’s gone.

            Today we learned how to draw a face, then we did collages and talked about Robert Rauschenberg. The kids were especially rambunctious today. My husband the teacher says it’s not okay to throw things at one’s students, and so I resorted to yelling at them. I love kids!

Thing I Hate Today: That being amazing doesn’t trump mortality.

One Response

  1. I love that you’re teaching Robert Rauschenberg at this age. So cool.

Leave a Reply

