February 5, 2012: I Need a Full House and My Threes

Poot.

There isn’t much to do in Niles besides eat and visit relatives and go antiquing. Todd and I had already played Scrabble the night before (he won by a huge margin, in part because I suck at Scrabble but also because he insisted that every word we played had to describe me at age 50, and I was flummoxed by his use of words like “quaintly,” “bag,” and “fart”), and so we broke out the only other board game we own in Niles: Yahtzee.

            My sister-in-law Debbie and I were addicted to this game in 1976, and used to spend entire weekends playing this while Fleetwood Mac’s Rumours blared on the hi-fi. I’d forgotten how much fun this game can be, and Todd and I were quickly hooked, playing into the wee hours of the night. We even played while eating meals. Hey, we’re in Ohio—we have to grab our fun where we can.

            I tried not to play quaintly, or like a bag. Probably I was flatulent, though.

Thing I Hate Today: Waiting.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

